---
title: "CSP26929 - Connectome neuron proofreading"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "UK RESEARCH & INNOVATION"
published: "2026-10-20"
---

# CSP26929 - Connectome neuron proofreading

Buyer: UK RESEARCH & INNOVATION  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb.json)

## Summary

UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) commissioned connectome neuron proofreading, a specialist service supporting the review and correction of neuronal connections in connectome data. The procurement is classified under laboratory, optical and precision equipment, although the stated requirement is proofreading rather than a named equipment purchase. UKRI is the buyer, with UK Shared Business Services Ltd managing the procurement. The delivery location is given as the United Kingdom. This is a focused requirement for suppliers able to work on neuron-level proofreading of connectome information, rather than a broadly described laboratory equipment supply.

The procurement is complete and the contract has been awarded to Aelysia Ltd. UKRI used a direct award without competition, citing the absence of competition for technical reasons and that only a particular supplier could provide the requirement. The single lot was completed. The contract was signed on 19 October 2026 and runs from 19 October 2026 to 31 October 2027. Its value is £24,150 excluding VAT, or £28,980 including VAT. The outcome reflects a sole-supplier route rather than a competitive evaluation: no award criteria or comparative assessment are described. This was a below-threshold procurement.

This award demonstrates UKRI's demand for specialist connectome neuron proofreading, a narrow capability that may suit providers with practical expertise in reviewing and correcting neuronal connection data. A credible competitor for a future requirement from this buyer would need to show it can deliver this specific technical work, rather than relying on a general laboratory equipment offer. The stated reason for selecting a particular supplier was technical: suppliers seeking similar work would need to establish that they can meet the required technical need and offer a credible alternative to the incumbent capability. The work was awarded to an SME, showing that a smaller specialist provider was selected for this requirement.

## Notice

Procurement Description ***** THIS IS A CONTRACT DETAILS NOTICE, NOT A CALL FOR COMPETITION ***** This procurement is being concluded without competition due to an absence of competition for technical reasons, only a particular supplier can supply the goods, services or works required. Brief Description of Requirement Connectome neuron proofreading

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099006-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 19 Oct 2026 - 31 Oct 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £24,150 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | UK RESEARCH & INNOVATION |
| Locality | SWINDON |
| Postcode area | Swindon |
| Postcode | SN2 1FL |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLK South West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLK7 Gloucestershire and Wiltshire |
| ITL 3 | TLK71 Swindon |
| Local authority | Swindon |
| Electoral ward | Rodbourne Cheney |
| Westminster constituency | Swindon North |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Aelysia Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 38 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)

### Codes

- 38000000 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)

## Release History

- 20 Oct 2026 at 13:22 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099006-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099006-2026
  20th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078bdb.json.
