---
title: "Integrated Healthcare Services at HMP Lincoln"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078c05"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078c05"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c05.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c05.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS England"
published: "2026-10-27"
---

# Integrated Healthcare Services at HMP Lincoln

Buyer: NHS England  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078c05

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078c05)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c05.json)

## Summary

NHS England commissioned integrated healthcare services at HMP Lincoln, covering primary healthcare, dental and optometry services, mental health and substance misuse support. The amended scope describes primary care, dental and optometry services, and mental health; the original scope also included substance misuse services. The work is for people held at HMP Lincoln and is intended to provide accessible healthcare in a prison setting. NHS England has a statutory duty to commission healthcare in places of detention, and the stated rationale for the procurement was to maintain care for this vulnerable patient group after the incumbent unexpectedly gave notice. The work is delivered at HMP Lincoln, in Lincoln, and combines several healthcare disciplines in one prison-healthcare service.

The procurement is complete and awarded to Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust. The contract was signed on 5 August 2026. Its initial term runs from 21 January 2026 to 20 January 2030, with an option to extend by one year; the stated value for the full five-year term is £18,915,276.37. NHS England used an urgent award without a prior competition because the incumbent unexpectedly served notice, an event it says was unforeseeable. The award was made under the urgent-circumstances provisions of the Provider Selection Regime. Evaluation gave 100% weighting to addressing immediate safety and care-quality risks and 0% to cost. One bid was recorded. The decision was approved on 1 May 2025.

For healthcare providers considering future prison-healthcare work for NHS England, this award shows demand for an integrated service combining primary care, dentistry, optometry and mental health in a custodial setting; the original scope also included substance misuse support. A credible competitor would need the clinical breadth and operational capacity to maintain safe, accessible care for a vulnerable prison population, and to manage continuity across multiple disciplines. The stated evaluation put immediate safety and quality of care ahead of price, so evidence of robust clinical governance and the ability to address urgent service risks would be important. NHS England said the service needs time to embed and improve patient outcomes, while the offender-health market has a limited number of providers. Providers able to develop mature delivery models and demonstrate outcomes are well placed.

## Notice

Provision of Integrated Healthcare Services at HMP Lincoln

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Integrated Prison Healthcare Services for primary healthcare including dental and optometry services, mental health and substance misuse services.
This notice is confirmation of an award having been made due to urgent circumstances as the incumbent provider has unexpectedly served notice on the contract.
The contract period is for an initial period of 4 years from 21 January 2026 to 20 January 2030 with option to extend for 12 months. The total contract value for the 5 years is PS18,915,276.37. Additional information: This contract has been awarded underthe urgent circumstances provision ofthe Provider Selection Regime(PSR).This contract has been awardedunder the Health Care Services(Provider Selection Regime)Regulations2023.For the avoidance ofdoubt, the provisions of theProcurement Act Regulations 2023 do not apply to this award.
Justification for Urgent award:-
The contract award must be made urgently as the incumbent provider has unexpectedly served notice on the contract.
The incumbent provider decision was not foreseeable as this was a decision made by the Executive Board which the relevant authority is not party to.
NHS England has a statutory duty to commission healthcare services in places of detention; failure to award this contract would be a breach of this duty and result in harm to this vulnerable patient group as there would be no alternative accessible healthcare services.
Justification for Contract Length:-
The new service contract will take a minimum of two years to embed, service development opportunities tobe realised and the desired improvements in patient outcomes to be monitored.
Procurement of new healthcare services can then be based on an improved outcomes for patients and mature service delivery models.
The Offender Health market offers a limited number of providers; the contract duration will afford commissioners time to review optimal service delivery models and stimulate the market to attract more providers ahead of a full procurement.
Advice from National colleagues recommends the addition of an option to extend the contract for 12 months providing a 5-year contract length, the minimum contract length recognised as good practice.
This decision was approved by NHS England Regional Commissioning Group on 01 May 2025.
There are no conflicts or potential conflicts of interest.

Options: Initial period of 4 years with an option to extend for a further 1 year.

### Procurement Information

See Section VI.3 - Additional Information

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/101400-2026 |
| Notice type | Tender Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Tender, Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 27 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £18,915,276 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS England |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | South East London |
| Postcode | SE1 8UG |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI4 Inner London - East |
| ITL 3 | TLI45 Lambeth |
| Local authority | Lambeth |
| Electoral ward | Waterloo & South Bank |
| Westminster constituency | Vauxhall and Camberwell Green |
| Delivery location | TLF3 Lincolnshire |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85100000 - Health services

## Release History

- 27 Oct 2026 at 10:50 - TenderUpdate - Tender Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/101400-2026
- 20 Oct 2026 at 14:52 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099081-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://www.england.nhs.uk/
- https://www.judiciary.uk/courts-and-tribunals/high-court/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078c05. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c05.json.
