---
title: "GMCA 1712 Selective Licensing Evidence Base Research Project"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Greater Manchester Combined Authority"
published: "2026-10-20"
---

# GMCA 1712 Selective Licensing Evidence Base Research Project

Buyer: Greater Manchester Combined Authority  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b.json)

## Summary

Greater Manchester Combined Authority commissioned research into the evidence needed to introduce a new selective property licensing scheme on a legally defensible basis. The work covers three elements: reviewing selective licensing schemes already used around the country, analysing the evidence available to build an evidence base, and developing a method that councils can follow to produce one. This is a research and advisory services requirement, rather than the delivery or administration of a licensing scheme. The work is associated with Greater Manchester; the recorded delivery location is the United Kingdom, without a more specific place stated. The findings and method are intended to support councils considering whether to introduce selective licensing and to help them establish the evidence needed to justify such a scheme.

The procurement is complete and the contract is active. Greater Manchester Combined Authority selected CARDIFF MET COMPANY LTD for the single lot through a limited competition described as a three-quote process. The award is active; the contract was signed on 9 October 2026 and runs from 12 October 2026 to 15 March 2027. Its value is £44,934. The stated scope is research into legally defensible evidence for selective licensing, including a review of schemes, analysis of available evidence and a method for councils to follow. The procurement information does not give an award date or explain how the competing quotes were evaluated, so no award date or evaluation criteria can be reported.

The selected supplier is a large Cardiff-based company, and the contract demonstrates demand for research that connects selective licensing policy with defensible evidence. A credible competitor for this buyer’s comparable requirement would need to review licensing schemes across different areas, assess the strength and availability of evidence, and turn that analysis into a practical method councils can use. The work calls for the ability to communicate how an evidence base can support a licensing decision, not simply general research capacity or property licensing delivery. Suppliers with relevant research and analytical capability, and experience producing usable methods for local authorities, would be well placed to compete when this specific requirement next arises. The central commercial proposition is a focused evidence and methodology assignment for councils considering selective licensing.

## Notice

Research into what a legally-defensible evidence base for introducing a new selective licensing scheme looks like. This research will encompass a review of existing licensing schemes around the country, analysis of the evidence available to produce an evidence base and creation of a method that councils can follow to produce an evidence base. Route to Market = 3 Quote Process in line with the PA23 Regulations and Constitution.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099161-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 12 Oct 2026 - 15 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £44,934 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Greater Manchester Combined Authority |
| Locality | MANCHESTER |
| Postcode area | Manchester |
| Postcode | M1 6EU |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLD North West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLD3 Greater Manchester |
| ITL 3 | TLD33 Manchester |
| Local authority | Manchester |
| Electoral ward | Deansgate |
| Westminster constituency | Manchester Central |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | CARDIFF MET COMPANY LTD |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 98 - Other community, social and personal services

### Codes

- 98000000 - Other community, social and personal services

## Release History

- 20 Oct 2026 at 16:06 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099161-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099161-2026
  20th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.cardiffmet.ac.uk/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078c2b.json.
