---
title: "GBE EPC, Grid Connection (ICO) and Operations and Maintenance Services"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Great British Energy"
published: "2026-10-22"
---

# GBE EPC, Grid Connection (ICO) and Operations and Maintenance Services

Buyer: Great British Energy  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e.json)

## Summary

Great British Energy is planning a solar development in England, covering construction of the power plant and solar installation, grid connection works, and ongoing operations and maintenance. The requirement includes engineering, procurement and construction (EPC), grid connection through an independent connection provider (ICP), and O&M services. The work is intended to deliver a solar project complete with its grid connection. Great British Energy is the buyer. The planned scope therefore spans project delivery and electrical connection as well as the subsequent operation and maintenance of the installation. Suppliers whose businesses cover solar power development, power plant construction, grid connections, electrical systems or maintenance may find the scope relevant.

This procurement is at the planning stage: Great British Energy has stated an intention to procure, but has not issued an invitation to tender. It expects a competitive flexible procedure. The buyer plans to publish a further notice by 20 November 2026. Preliminary market engagement is planned as an online event on 27 October 2026 at 14:30; suppliers were asked to confirm attendance by 15:00 on 25 October. A follow-up questionnaire is due by 3 November 2026. The programme targets a firm commercial and contractual position by February 2027. The tender period is expected to end on 8 January 2027, with an award decision by 30 April 2027. The planned contract period runs from 30 April 2027 to 29 April 2030.

The work is likely to suit suppliers able to deliver solar power plant construction and installation, grid connection works, or operations and maintenance; businesses offering combinations of these services may also be relevant. Great British Energy is using early market engagement to inform how the work is packaged and delivered, how EPC and ICP responsibilities interface, and how O&M is provided. It also wants supplier feedback on commercial and contractual considerations, risk allocation, programme and the potential procurement approach. The engagement includes an online event followed by a questionnaire, giving suppliers a route to comment on the proposed scope and delivery model before the procurement is developed. The lot is marked as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises.

## Notice

EPC, Grid Connection (ICP) and Operations and Maintenance Services Project requires procurement of EPC, grid connection works (ICP) and O&M for a solar development in England complete with grid connection. Early Market Engagement will inform packaging, delivery models, risk allocation and the route to market. Programme targeting a firm commercial and contractual position by February 2027.

### Planning Information

Great British Energy (GBE) intends to undertake preliminary market engagement in relation to the potential procurement of EPC, grid connection/ICP and operations and maintenance (O&M) services for potential solar project. 
Date: 27 October 2026, 1430hrs (online).
The engagement will comprise an online market engagement event, covering the proposed scope and packaging, EPC/ICP interfaces, O&M delivery, commercial and contractual considerations, risk allocation, programme and potential procurement approach.
The event will be followed by a supplier questionnaire, providing suppliers with an opportunity to submit further feedback. Completed questionnaires must be returned no later than 3 November 2026, in accordance with the submission instructions provided with the questionnaire.
Suppliers wishing to attend should confirm their attendance by 1500hrs 25th October 2026 by emailing sourcing@gbe.gov.uk. Joining instructions will be provided to registered participants. 
The online engagement event will be followed by a supplier questionnaire. Completed questionnaires must be returned no later than 3 November 2026 in accordance with the submission instructions provided.
Clarification questions relating to the engagement may also be submitted to sourcing@gbe.gov.uk.
Participation in the engagement does not constitute a tender or commitment by GBE to proceed with a procurement or adopt a particular procurement procedure.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100027-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Competitive flexible procedure |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 22 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 20 Nov 2026 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 30 Apr 2027 - 29 Apr 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planned |
| Lots status | Planned |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Great British Energy |
| Locality | ABERDEEN |
| Postcode area | Aberdeen |
| Postcode | AB10 1BJ |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM5 North Eastern Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM50 Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire |
| Local authority | Aberdeen City |
| Electoral ward | Midstocket/Rosemount |
| Westminster constituency | Aberdeen South |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 09 - Petroleum products, fuel, electricity and other sources of energy
- 45 - Construction work
- 50 - Repair and maintenance services
- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 09330000 - Solar energy
- 09331200 - Solar photovoltaic modules
- 09332000 - Solar installation
- 45251100 - Construction work for power plant
- 50710000 - Repair and maintenance services of electrical and mechanical building installations
- 50800000 - Miscellaneous repair and maintenance services
- 71323100 - Electrical power systems design services

## Release History

- 22 Oct 2026 at 14:29 - PlanningUpdate - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100027-2026
- 21 Oct 2026 at 17:17 - Planning - UK1 - Pipeline Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099701-2026
- 21 Oct 2026 at 16:53 - PlanningUpdate - UK3 - Planned Procurement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099687-2026
- 21 Oct 2026 at 16:45 - PlanningUpdate - UK3 - Planned Procurement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099682-2026
- 21 Oct 2026 at 16:13 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099644-2026
- 21 Oct 2026 at 15:45 - Planning - UK3 - Planned Procurement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099627-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100027-2026
  22nd October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099701-2026
  21st October 2026 - Pipeline notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099687-2026
  21st October 2026 - Planned procurement notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099682-2026
  21st October 2026 - Planned procurement notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099644-2026
  21st October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099627-2026
  21st October 2026 - Planned procurement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078d2e.json.
