---
title: "Integrated 0-19 (0-25 SEND) Public Health Nursing Service"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Reading Borough Council"
published: "2026-10-23"
---

# Integrated 0-19 (0-25 SEND) Public Health Nursing Service

Buyer: Reading Borough Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6.json)

## Summary

Reading Borough Council is planning a standalone public health nursing service for children and young people in Reading. The service is intended to deliver the Healthy Child Programme through an integrated health visiting and school nursing model, covering ages 0–19 and eligible young people with special educational needs and disabilities up to age 25. It is a community health service for the Reading population. The Council previously considered joint commissioning with neighbouring authorities, but is now exploring a Reading-only arrangement. Its current service model, objectives, scope and outcomes are otherwise unchanged from the earlier engagement exercise. The Council expects to confirm the final specification and commissioning requirements in any future procurement.

This is the planning stage: the Council is reviewing commissioning options and undertaking market engagement, not inviting tenders. It expects to use the Provider Selection Regime under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. The Council’s current planning assumption is for the contract to start on 1 April 2028, with an initial three-year term and two possible two-year extensions, for a maximum duration of seven years. The estimated total value, including extensions, is £22 million. The Council invited expressions of interest from organisations with relevant experience and capability, with interest and survey responses due by 6 November 2026. Its plans, requirements, timetable, term and value may change before any procurement.

The work is likely to suit providers able to deliver an integrated health visiting and school nursing service for a local population, including provision for eligible children and young people with SEND up to age 25. The Council is testing whether suppliers have the capacity to deliver the service as a standalone Reading contract, rather than through joint commissioning with neighbouring authorities. It is also seeking views on delivery within the Reading footprint, workforce recruitment, retention and mobilisation, and partnership working with Family Hubs, education, primary care and wider children’s services. Providers with relevant experience and capability can inform its planning, including identifying delivery risks, dependencies and market constraints, and suggesting innovations to improve outcomes for children, young people and families. Engagement will not affect evaluation in any later procurement.

## Notice

Reading Borough Council are tendering for a service to deliver high quality 0-19 (up to 25 for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities) Public Health Nursing in Reading. Since services fall within CPV Code 85323000-9 (community health services delivered to individuals) the procurement will be carried out under the Provider Selection Regime under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. Reading Borough Council previously published a preliminary market engagement notice setting out its intention to explore procurement of a joint Integrated 0-19 (0-25 SEND) Public Health Nursing Service arrangement with neighbouring authorities. The market engagement undertaken at that time sought views on the proposed service model and delivery arrangements for a collaborative commissioning approach. 0-19 (up to 25 for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities) Public Health Nursing Services - Find a Tender Following publication of that notice, changes in the local government landscape, including ongoing considerations relating to Local Government Reorganisation, have resulted in the Council reviewing its future commissioning options. As a consequence, Reading Borough Council is now considering the potential for a Reading-only procurement and is seeking feedback from the market to understand the level of provider interest, capacity and capability to deliver a standalone service focused on the Reading population. This notice is issued solely to inform the market of the Council's revised commissioning intentions and to seek expressions of interest from organisations that may wish to participate in future engagement activity. Status of Previously Published Information Except for the change in commissioning approach described above, all information previously published regarding the proposed service model, service objectives, scope, outcomes, and anticipated contract arrangements should be considered unchanged at this stage. The Council continues to envisage an Integrated 0-19 Public Health Nursing Service, including services up to age 25 for eligible children and young people with SEND, delivering the Healthy Child Programme through an integrated health visiting and school nursing model. Any future procurement documentation will confirm the final specification and commissioning requirements. Proposed Contract Arrangements The Council's current planning assumptions remain: * Contract commencement date: 1 April 2028 * Initial contract term: 3 years * Extension option 1: 2 years * Extension option 2: 2 years * Maximum contract duration: 7 years * Estimated total contract value (including extensions): PS22 million These figures are indicative only and may be refined prior to any future procurement process.

### Planning Information

Market Engagement Objectives
The Council is particularly interested in receiving feedback from providers on:
• Appetite for participation in a Reading-only procurement.
• Capacity within the market to deliver a standalone Integrated 0-19 (0-25 SEND) Public Health Nursing Service.
• Opportunities and challenges associated with delivery at a Reading footprint.
• Workforce considerations, including recruitment, retention and mobilisation.
• Partnership working with Family Hubs, education, primary care and wider children's services.
• Innovation opportunities that could improve outcomes for children, young people and families.
• Any risks, dependencies or market factors that the Council should consider when developing its commissioning strategy.
Expressions of Interest
The Council invites organisations with relevant experience and capability to express their interest in delivering the proposed service and to participate in the market engagement exercise, please contact Kedei.Ettah@reading.gov.uk by 6 November 2026 to express your interest and for a copy of the survey. The deadline for the survey submission is 6 November 2026.
Participation in market engagement will not confer any advantage in any subsequent procurement process and will not be used as part of any future evaluation.
Disclaimer
This notice is for market engagement purposes only and does not constitute a call for competition, invitation to tender, or commitment by Reading Borough Council to commence any procurement process or award any contract.
The Council reserves the right to revise its commissioning intentions, procurement strategy, service requirements, contract term, contract value and proposed timetable at any stage.
Key Message for Suppliers
A previous market engagement exercise considered a potential joint commissioning arrangement. Due to the evolving context of Local Government Reorganisation, Reading Borough Council is now exploring the option of a Reading-only procurement and wishes to understand the level of market interest in delivering the service on this basis. All other previously published information relating to the proposed service model remains unchanged unless otherwise stated in future communications.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100358-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | VCSE |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 23 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Apr 2028 - 1 Apr 2031 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £22,000,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Reading Borough Council |
| Locality | READING |
| Postcode area | Reading |
| Postcode | RG1 2LU |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLJ South East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLJ1 Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire |
| ITL 3 | TLJ16 Berkshire West |
| Local authority | Reading |
| Electoral ward | Abbey |
| Westminster constituency | Reading Central |
| Delivery location | TLJ11 Berkshire |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85323000 - Community health services

## Release History

- 23 Oct 2026 at 11:23 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100358-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100358-2026
  23rd October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.reading.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078eb6.json.
