---
title: "STA Provision of Investigational Medicinal Product (IMP) and placebo"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust"
published: "2026-10-23"
---

# STA Provision of Investigational Medicinal Product (IMP) and placebo

Buyer: University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f.json)

## Summary

Bristol NHS Foundation Trust is procuring investigational medicinal product (IMP) and placebo for a clinical study. The products must be formulated and manufactured under aseptic conditions, requiring specialised pharmaceutical production. The procurement is categorised as pharmaceutical products. Delivery is stated as being in the United Kingdom, without a more specific delivery location. The requirement is for a single lot and is focused on supplying the IMP and placebo to the required formulation and manufacturing specifications. The buyer’s rationale describes a narrow market: other NHS pharmacy aseptic services approached during the funding application could not meet the specification. This is therefore a specialist medicines-manufacturing requirement rather than a general pharmacy supply contract.

The procurement has been awarded through a direct award, justified by niche supply and the limited number of providers able to meet the requirement. Liverpool University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, trading as MIAA, was selected as supplier. The award is recorded as pending. The award value is £152,440 including gross value. The contract period is 1 December 2026 to 31 December 2032, with signature scheduled for 23 November 2026. The award date is not stated. The process comprised one lot, marked complete. No evaluation scoring or other award criteria are set out; the stated basis for selecting the supplier was the specialist requirement and the inability of other approached NHS aseptic services to meet it.

For a future requirement from Bristol NHS Foundation Trust, a credible competitor would need proven capability to formulate and manufacture investigational medicines and placebo under aseptic conditions, and to meet the study’s precise product specifications. The procurement rationale indicates that this is a highly specialised service with few providers able to satisfy the technical requirement; ordinary pharmaceutical distribution or routine pharmacy aseptic services would not be enough. Suppliers should be able to demonstrate the facilities, quality systems, technical expertise and capacity needed for specialised aseptic manufacture, alongside experience delivering investigational products for clinical research. The selected supplier was a large NHS foundation trust trading as MIAA, showing that the buyer accepted an NHS provider for this requirement. The commercial opportunity is consequently suited to specialist manufacturers or capable NHS aseptic providers, not broad-market suppliers.

## Notice

IMP/placebo formulation type it needs to be manufactured in aseptic conditions. This requires a highly specialised manufacturing process and as a result UK Manufacturers of Aseptic servicesable to offer this srvice is are limited. During the grant (funding) application stage 5 other NHS pharmacy aseptic services were approached to provided a quote for the service - all of which were unable to provide the service to the required specifications.

### Procurement Information

Niche supply, limited providers who on investigation could not meet the needs of the requirement

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100701-2026 |
| Notice type | UK5 - Transparency Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Direct award |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 23 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Dec 2026 - 31 Dec 2032 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £152,440 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Pending |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust |
| Locality | BRISTOL |
| Postcode area | Bristol |
| Postcode | BS1 3NU |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLK South West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLK5 West of England |
| ITL 3 | TLK51 Bristol, City of |
| Local authority | Bristol, City of |
| Electoral ward | Central |
| Westminster constituency | Bristol Central |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Liverpool University Hospital NHS FT |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 33 - Medical equipments, pharmaceuticals and personal care products

### Codes

- 33600000 - Pharmaceutical products

## Release History

- 23 Oct 2026 at 16:07 - Award - UK5 - Transparency Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100701-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/100701-2026
  23rd October 2026 - Transparency notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.miaa.nhs.uk/
- https://www.uhbw.nhs.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078f7f.json.
