---
title: "B4044 West Way Junction & Link Improvements"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07905f"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07905f"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07905f.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07905f.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Oxfordshire County Council"
published: "2026-10-26"
---

# B4044 West Way Junction & Link Improvements

Buyer: Oxfordshire County Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07905f

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07905f)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07905f.json)

## Summary

Oxfordshire County Council commissioned highways consultancy and feasibility work for the B4044 West Way Junction and Link Improvements in Oxfordshire. The scheme aims to improve safety and priority for people walking and cycling at the busy West Way junction, including crossings between West Way and Eynsham Road, where dedicated cycling infrastructure and safe crossing facilities are currently lacking. The commission covers preliminary design development and feasibility review, alongside procurement support, preparation of a technical specification and contract administration. Funding is allocated for preliminary design only. The work supports the Council’s strategic governance review of the scheme and its proposed walking and cycling infrastructure improvements.

The procurement is complete and the contract was awarded to Pick Everard. Oxfordshire County Council used a direct award below the applicable threshold, without competition. The award was for one lot and is recorded as active. The contract was signed on 21 October 2026 and runs from 21 October 2026 to 20 April 2027, with an option described as five months. The contract value is £97,382.66 excluding VAT (£116,859.19 including VAT). The recorded award concerns highways consultancy services and a feasibility study. The published procurement information does not state an evaluation basis or supplier eligibility requirements.

This award shows demand from Oxfordshire County Council for specialist highways consultancy supporting walking and cycling infrastructure schemes. A credible competitor for similar work would need to demonstrate the ability to review feasibility and develop preliminary designs for junction and link improvements, with a strong understanding of pedestrian and cycle safety and crossing provision. The requirement also demonstrates the value of being able to support the Council’s strategic governance process, provide procurement support and technical specifications, and administer contracts. The work is a focused preliminary-design commission rather than delivery of construction works, so relevant consultancy capability and experience across these linked project stages are central to competing when this buyer next requires comparable support.

## Notice

This funding is allocated to support specific projects intended to improve walking and cycling infrastructure in the county. The B4044 West Way Junction & Link Improvements scheme is an infrastructure project that has been allocated funding for preliminary design only. The B4044 West Way is a busy junction but there is currently no dedicated infrastructure for cyclists or facilities for pedestrians and cyclists to safely cross. The scheme aims to give pedestrians and cyclists protection and priority at the junction including those crossing between West Way and Eynsham Road The appointment of a consultant is critical for the completion of stage 2 of OCC's strategic governance process, ensuring further review of the feasibility and preliminary design development, procurement support, technical specification, and contract administration.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/101132-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 26 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 21 Oct 2026 - 20 Apr 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £97,382 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Oxfordshire County Council |
| Locality | OXFORD |
| Postcode area | Oxford |
| Postcode | OX1 1ND |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLJ South East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLJ1 Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire |
| ITL 3 | TLJ14 Oxfordshire CC |
| Local authority | Oxford |
| Electoral ward | Osney & St Thomas |
| Westminster constituency | Oxford West and Abingdon |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Pick Everard |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services
- 79 - Business services: law, marketing, consulting, recruitment, printing and security

### Codes

- 71311210 - Highways consultancy services
- 79314000 - Feasibility study

## Release History

- 26 Oct 2026 at 15:20 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/101132-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/101132-2026
  26th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.pickeverard.co.uk
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07905f. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07905f.json.
