---
title: "Award of NHSL1020 Desktop Mine Water Geothermal Feasibility Study"
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS Lanarkshire"
published: "2026-10-20"
---

# Award of NHSL1020 Desktop Mine Water Geothermal Feasibility Study

Buyer: NHS Lanarkshire  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569.json)

## Summary

NHS Lanarkshire commissioned a desktop feasibility study to assess whether mine-water geothermal energy could be viable across its sites. The work screens the sites, identifies those with potential and recommends which should proceed to more detailed investigations, potentially including intrusive surveys, and business case development. This is specialist energy and engineering consultancy focused on geothermal resources and early-stage feasibility, rather than installation or construction. The study is intended to help the health board decide where further technical assessment and investment planning may be justified.

The procurement has been awarded and the contract is active. TownRock Energy was selected to carry out the study for £15,990. The published procurement data records one bid. The requirement was for a desktop scoping feasibility study covering site screening, mine-water geothermal potential and recommendations for further investigation and business case development. No tender deadline, contract duration, award date, evaluation criteria or selection requirements are recorded in the available process details. The stated route was a quick-quote award; the procurement was for services. The recorded contract links to the award, with no separate contract value or period stated.

This award shows NHS Lanarkshire buys specialist advice to assess mine-water geothermal potential across its estate before committing to detailed surveys or business case work. Suppliers are best placed to compete for a similar requirement if they can combine geothermal and mine-water expertise with the ability to screen a portfolio of sites remotely, assess feasibility and identify which locations merit further investigation. A credible provider would need to turn technical findings into clear, decision-ready recommendations for a public-sector client, including a pathway from desktop assessment to potentially intrusive work and investment appraisal. The single recorded bid suggests limited competition for this particular procurement, but does not establish a wider market pattern. The requirement is focused on early-stage assessment, not delivering geothermal infrastructure.

## Notice

The Board is looking to appoint a supplier to produce a desktop scoping feasibility study to screen its sites, identify where mine water geothermal could be viable, and determine which sites should progress to more detailed (and potentially intrusive) investigations and business case development.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566985 |
| Notice type | PCS Notice - Quick Quote Award |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £15,990 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Not specified |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS Lanarkshire |
| Additional buyers | Falkirk Council; Moray Council; NHS Fife; NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde; North Lanarkshire Council; Perth & Kinross Council; Registers of Scotland; Scottish Environment Protection Agency; Scottish Government |
| Locality | BOTHWELL |
| Postcode area | Glasgow |
| Postcode | G71 8BB |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM9 Southern Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM95 South Lanarkshire |
| Local authority | South Lanarkshire |
| Electoral ward | Bothwell and Uddingston |
| Westminster constituency | Rutherglen |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 23 |
| Supplier names | TownRock Energy; bca insulation; Venesky Brown Ltd; EKOS; Robertson Group; Crest Advisory (UK) Ltd; Invoka Consulting Limited; 15489790; GRITIT; GGS Agri Ltd; Iken Business Limited; Hays Specialist Recruitment Ltd; ERS Ltd; McTaggart Construction Ltd; Fleming Buildings Ltd; Intersource Medical Services Ltd; thermo fisher scientific; Agilent Technologies LDA UK Ltd; Kevin Kulik; Scorpio Safety Systems Ltd; Change Grow Live Services Ltd; National Centre for Social Research; Jeremy Benn Associates Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 71241000 - Feasibility study, advisory service, analysis

## Release History

- 20 Oct 2026 at 13:06 - Award - PCS Notice - Quick Quote Award - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566985

## Notice URLs

- http://https://www.northlanarkshire.gov.uk
- http://www.falkirk.gov.uk
- http://www.moray.gov.uk
- http://www.nhsfife.org
- http://www.nhsggc.scot/about-us/procurement/
- http://www.nhslanarkshire.org.uk
- http://www.pkc.gov.uk
- http://www.ros.gov.uk
- http://www.scotland.gov.uk
- http://www.scottishprocurement.scot
- http://www.sepa.org.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000833569.json.
