---
title: "Award of CE-36-26-MC - Installation of Play Area Equipment and Safety Surfacing - Troon Esplanade..."
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "South Ayrshire Council"
published: "2026-09-01"
---

# Award of CE-36-26-MC - Installation of Play Area Equipment and Safety Surfacing - Troon Esplanade...

Buyer: South Ayrshire Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337.json)

## Summary

South Ayrshire Council commissioned the installation of play area equipment and safety surfacing at Troon Esplanade, Troon, KA10 6AY. The requirement is categorised as services and concerns park and playground equipment. The work is for a public outdoor play area and combines the supply and installation of play equipment with the provision of safety surfacing. The council is the buying organisation. The named delivery location is Troon Esplanade, making this relevant to playground contractors, specialist play-area installers, safety-surfacing providers and businesses able to deliver both elements of the requirement. The procurement was run as a mini competition for this specific site-based installation project.

This procurement has been awarded following a mini competition. The contract was awarded to Playscapes Scotland Ltd, and the contract is recorded as active. The awarded value is £71,245 GBP. One bid was recorded. The published outcome identifies the requirement as the installation of play area equipment and safety surfacing at Troon Esplanade. The award information does not provide an award date or contract start and end dates. The available outcome records one supplier and one award, rather than separate awards for different lots. This procurement therefore demonstrates a completed competitive route used by South Ayrshire Council to appoint a specialist supplier for a defined playground installation package.

For a supplier that did not win, this procurement is a clear indicator that South Ayrshire Council buys combined play-area installation and safety-surfacing services through a mini-competition route. A credible competitor for the same requirement in future would need to source or install park and playground equipment, deliver compliant safety surfacing, and coordinate both parts as one site-based service. The Troon Esplanade project also indicates the value of being able to deliver a complete outdoor play-area package rather than only supplying equipment or surfacing. Businesses with practical installation capacity, relevant playground construction experience and the ability to manage works at a public coastal or town-centre location would be well placed to compete when the requirement returns to market.

## Notice

Mini Competition for the Installation of Play Area Equipment and safety surfacing - Troon Esplanade. KA10 6AY.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP563539 |
| Notice type | PCS Notice - Quick Quote Award |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 1 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £71,245 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Not specified |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | South Ayrshire Council |
| Additional buyers | Argyll and Bute Council; Dumfries and Galloway Council; East Lothian Council; Fife Council; Glasgow Caledonian University; Lothian NHS Board; NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde; Perth & Kinross Council; Registers of Scotland; Scottish Government; The City of Edinburgh Council; The Highland Council |
| Locality | AYR |
| Postcode area | Kilmarnock |
| Postcode | KA7 1DR |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM9 Southern Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM94 South Ayrshire |
| Local authority | South Ayrshire |
| Electoral ward | Ayr West |
| Westminster constituency | Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 29 |
| Supplier names | Playscapes Scotland Ltd; Holyrood PR; Nuffield Health; Spire Healthcare; Laser Vision Scotland Ltd; Circle Health Group Limited; Tropical Health Consulting LLP; Harley Haddow Limited; Virgin Media Business; ac's taxis; Bodyshop Edinburgh; atholl carriers; APEM Ltd; William Waugh & Sons (Builders) Ltd; Valuta; C and A interiors; RSK Environment Ltd.; Optimal Economics; Building Research Establishment Ltd; thermo fisher scientific; Sangster Electrical Ltd; Synaptik; CSS Europe Limited; Venesky Brown Ltd; Richard Irvin FM Limited; D.R. Alexander & Son; SMYTEC LTD; Astell Scientific Ltd; Fortress Security Alarms Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 43 - Machinery for mining, quarrying, construction equipment

### Codes

- 43325000 - Park and playground equipment

## Release History

- 1 Sep 2026 at 15:02 - Award - PCS Notice - Quick Quote Award - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP563539

## Notice URLs

- http://https://www.eastlothian.gov.uk
- http://https://www.highland.gov.uk
- http://https://www.nhslothian.scot/
- http://www.argyll-bute.gov.uk
- http://www.dumgal.gov.uk
- http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk
- http://www.fife.gov.uk
- http://www.https://www.gcu.ac.uk/aboutgcu/services-and-facilities/finance/procurement
- http://www.nhsggc.scot/about-us/procurement/
- http://www.pkc.gov.uk/article/15478/Tenders-and-contracts
- http://www.ros.gov.uk
- http://www.scotland.gov.uk
- http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk/procurement/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000834337.json.
