---
title: "Award of Landscape and Visual Impact Assessment for S36 Applications 2026-2027 (SXL ETC DA)"
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Argyll and Bute Council"
published: "2026-09-17"
---

# Award of Landscape and Visual Impact Assessment for S36 Applications 2026-2027 (SXL ETC DA)

Buyer: Argyll and Bute Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622.json)

## Summary

Argyll and Bute Council commissioned landscape and visual impact assessment services for Section 36 applications relating to energy infrastructure, including wind farms. The work supports the Council’s Planning Team with landscape consultancy and advice, covering the full process from initial site visits through to representation at a Public Inquiry. The procurement is categorised as a professional service, with environmental engineering consultancy also identified as a relevant classification. Delivery is for the Council’s planning work across Argyll and Bute, with the buying organisation based at Kilmory, Lochgilphead. The requirement would suit consultancies providing landscape assessment, visual impact advice and planning support for major energy developments.

This procurement has been awarded through a direct procedure to a single supplier without competition. One bid was recorded. Jacobs U.K. Limited was selected to provide the landscape consultancy and advice, and the resulting contract is active. The awarded value is £177,205.05 including the stated currency of GBP. The requirement covers landscape and visual impact assessment for Section 36 applications during 2026–2027, including site visits and representation at Public Inquiry. Evaluation was therefore conducted through a single-supplier direct award route rather than a competitive tender. The award relates to the complete described service, with no separate lots or multiple awarded suppliers identified.

For firms that did not win this award, the procurement indicates demand from Argyll and Bute Council for specialist landscape and visual impact support connected with Section 36 energy applications. A credible competitor would need to undertake initial site visits, prepare or advise on landscape and visual impact assessments, support the Council’s planning team and represent its position at a Public Inquiry. Relevant capability in landscape consultancy and environmental engineering consultancy would be important, particularly for wind farm or comparable major energy proposals. The single-supplier route also shows that the buyer has used a focused appointment for an end-to-end specialist service, favouring providers able to cover both technical advice and formal inquiry representation.

## Notice

The service will provide Argyll and Bute Council's Planning Team with Landscape Consultancy and advice, ranging from initial site visits up to and including representation at Public Inquiry.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP564725 |
| Notice type | PCS Notice - Quick Quote Award |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | The contract is awarded to a single supplier without competition. |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 17 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £177,205 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Not specified |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Argyll and Bute Council |
| Additional buyers | Clackmannanshire Council; Consumer Scotland; Crown Estate Scotland; Dumfries and Galloway Council; Dundee City Council; Fife Council; Moray Council; NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde; North Lanarkshire Council; Perth & Kinross Council; Public Health Scotland; Redress Scotland; Registers of Scotland; Scottish Borders Housing Association; Scottish Government; Student Awards Agency Scotland; The Highland Council; West Lothian Council |
| Locality | LOCHGILPHEAD |
| Postcode area | Paisley |
| Postcode | PA31 8RT |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM2 Highlands and Islands |
| ITL 3 | TLM20 Highlands and Islands |
| Local authority | Argyll and Bute |
| Electoral ward | Mid Argyll |
| Westminster constituency | Argyll, Bute and South Lochaber |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 48 |
| Supplier names | Jacobs UK Ltd; NEC Software Solutions UK Limited; FRP Advisory; Mitie; Turner & Townsend; Jump Research; Chase Services Group Ltd; Houlder Limited; IFF Research; Hays Specialist Recruitment Ltd; GC Insight Ltd; Amey OW Ltd; Beam Up Ltd; Gemmell & Prout Marine Limited; Venesky Brown Ltd; SKODA UK; HaskoningDHV UK Ltd; William Yule & Son Limited; LEARNING POOL LIMITED; Abbeyfield Kirkcaldy Society Limited; Sanderson Government and Defence; Helpthemove Ltd; George Brown & Sons Engineers (Leith) Limited; VWR International Ltd; WSP UK Limited; Stantec UK Ltd; Galliford Try Construction Ltd; Specialist Computer Centres; 8x8 UK Limited; Ipsos MORI; Decathlon UK; Findel Education Ltd; RJM Sports Ltd; Boswell Mitchell & Johnston Ltd; BLAZIE ENGINEERING LIMITED; Storm ID Ltd; McTaggart Construction Ltd; Alliance Disposables Ltd; Bunzl UK Ltd; Instock Disposables Ltd; QA RESEARCH LTD; Shepherd and Wedderburn LLP; Harper Macleod LLP; Brodies; CRB Cunninghams Limited; Spiritmedia Scotland; Taylor McKenzie Research & Marketing Ltd; City Gate Construction Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 31 - Electrical machinery, apparatus, equipment and consumables; lighting
- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 31121340 - Wind farm
- 71313000 - Environmental engineering consultancy services

## Release History

- 17 Sep 2026 at 12:55 - Award - PCS Notice - Quick Quote Award - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP564725

## Notice URLs

- http://
- http://crownestatescotland.com/
- http://https://www.northlanarkshire.gov.uk
- http://www.SAAS.gov.uk
- http://www.argyll-bute.gov.uk
- http://www.clacks.gov.uk/business/corporateprocurementprocess/
- http://www.dumgal.gov.uk
- http://www.fife.gov.uk
- http://www.highland.gov.uk
- http://www.moray.gov.uk
- http://www.nhsggc.scot/about-us/procurement/
- http://www.pkc.gov.uk/article/15478/Tenders-and-contracts
- http://www.ros.gov.uk
- http://www.sbha.org.uk
- http://www.scotland.gov.uk
- https://consumer.scot/
- https://publichealthscotland.scot/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000837622.json.
