---
title: "AA-521-26-TW Generator replacement - Girvan Community Hospital"
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS Ayrshire & Arran"
published: "2026-09-07"
---

# AA-521-26-TW Generator replacement - Girvan Community Hospital

Buyer: NHS Ayrshire & Arran  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417.json)

## Summary

NHS Ayrshire & Arran procured the replacement of a wind turbine generator at Girvan Community Hospital in South Ayrshire. The requirement covers generator replacement for critical equipment that had failed and left the turbine non-operational. The work is classified as goods, specifically electricity-generating equipment (CPV 31120000), rather than general hospital maintenance. The purpose was to restore renewable energy generation, protect the Health Board’s associated feed-in tariff income and carbon-reduction benefits, and reduce reliance on grid-supplied electricity and its costs. The delivery location is Girvan Community Hospital, serving the Ayrshire and Arran area. This is a single requirement for the hospital site, bought directly by NHS Ayrshire & Arran.

The procurement is complete and was awarded to Earthmill Maintenance Ltd. The contract was signed on 21 August 2026 for £107,725.59 including the stated currency of GBP, and its status is active. It comprised one lot covering the generator replacement. NHS Ayrshire & Arran used a limited procedure without prior publication of a call for competition, justified as an emergency procurement caused by extreme urgency following critical equipment failure and its operational, financial and sustainability impacts. One bid was recorded, from an SME, and it was submitted electronically. The award was made through the urgent direct route rather than an open competition. The available outcome records identify Earthmill Maintenance Ltd as the selected supplier.

This award shows demand from NHS Ayrshire & Arran for specialist wind-turbine generator replacement at a live hospital site, with the work driven by operational continuity, renewable-energy income and carbon-reduction objectives. A credible future competitor would need practical capability in wind-turbine or generator replacement, fault response and maintenance, together with the capacity to mobilise quickly when critical infrastructure fails. Experience working safely in or around hospital premises would strengthen a supplier’s position, as would evidence of restoring generation reliably and limiting disruption to healthcare operations. The selected supplier was an SME and submitted the sole bid, indicating that a focused specialist business can be relevant to this type of requirement. Technical delivery, emergency responsiveness and understanding of renewable-energy performance are the key commercial signals.

## Notice

Generator replacement - Girvan Community Hospital

### Procurement Information

The replacement of the wind turbine generator located at Girvan Community Hospital in South Ayrshire is required as an emergency procurement due to the critical nature of the equipment failure and the associated operational, financial and sustainability impacts. The turbine is currently non-operational, resulting in the loss of renewable energy generation feed-in tariff (eg ROO-FIT) income to the Health Board and associated carbon reduction benefits, while also increasing reliance on grid-supplied electricity and associated costs

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP563895 |
| Notice type | PCS Notice - Website Contract Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 7 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £107,725 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS Ayrshire & Arran |
| Locality | AYR |
| Postcode area | Kilmarnock |
| Postcode | KA6 6AB |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM9 Southern Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM94 South Ayrshire |
| Local authority | South Ayrshire |
| Electoral ward | Maybole, North Carrick and Coylton |
| Westminster constituency | Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock |
| Delivery location | TLM94 South Ayrshire |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Earthmill Maintenance Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 31 - Electrical machinery, apparatus, equipment and consumables; lighting

### Codes

- 31120000 - Generators

## Release History

- 7 Sep 2026 at 01:00 - Award - PCS Notice - Website Contract Award Notice - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP563895

## Documents

- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP563895
  AA-521-26-TW Generator replacement - Girvan Community Hospital - Generator replacement - Girvan Community Hospital

## Notice URLs

- http://
- http://www.nhsaaa.net
- https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000841417.json.
