---
title: "Distress Brief Intervention"
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Tender"
buyer: "North Lanarkshire Council"
published: "2026-10-09"
---

# Distress Brief Intervention

Buyer: North Lanarkshire Council  
Current stage: Tender  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200.json)

## Summary

North Lanarkshire Council is seeking one contractor to deliver Distress Brief Intervention (DBI) services across North Lanarkshire and South Lanarkshire. The service supports the councils and NHS Lanarkshire in responding to people experiencing distress, as part of the Scottish Government’s Mental Health Strategy. North Lanarkshire Social Care leads commissioning on behalf of South Lanarkshire Social Care and NHS Lanarkshire, reflecting an established partnership across Lanarkshire. The requirement is a social care and mental health support service, rather than a goods or construction contract. Delivery is across the two council areas; NHS Lanarkshire is also a commissioning partner. The procurement is intended to secure a single provider for the service across this partnership.

The buyer invited offers through a tender using an open procedure. The procurement is for one contract, with a single contractor, and is being conducted under Scotland’s rules for social and other specific services. The buyer set 11 November 2026 at 12:00 UTC as the bid submission deadline. The contract is expected to start on 1 April 2027 for an initial 24 months, ending 31 March 2029. The council may extend it for two further 12-month periods, up to a maximum of 48 months and a possible end date of 31 March 2031. The fixed budget for the full maximum term is £2,557,680 excluding VAT. Award criteria and participation rules are set out in the invitation-to-tender materials. Economic operators may be excluded on statutory grounds.

This opportunity is suited to a provider able to deliver distress intervention across both North and South Lanarkshire and work effectively with local authorities, social care and NHS partners. The commissioning model calls for partnership working, with the North Lanarkshire service taking the lead on behalf of the other public-sector partners. The contract is for one provider, so bidders need the organisational capacity to deliver the service across the area rather than a contribution to a multi-provider arrangement. Community benefits and subcontracting requirements apply, with their detailed terms contained in the tender materials. The service forms part of a wider Scottish mental health strategy, making relevant experience in mental health support and responding to people in distress commercially pertinent. The published summary does not set out particular professional accreditations or minimum experience thresholds.

## Notice

North Lanarkshire Council (the "Council") propose to establish a contract with a sole contractor for Distress Brief Intervention. . There is a longstanding culture of joint integration and partnership working across Lanarkshire which is further evidenced through the Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership (H&SCP) agreement for North Lanarkshire Social Care services to take a lead role in the commissioning of the DBI service on behalf of South Lanarkshire Social Care service and NHS Lanarkshire. . The approach to this procurement is in accordance with Regulation 74 (Social and Other Specific Services) of The Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

This procurement is to secure a sole Contractor who will support the Contracting Body to fulfil its requirement for Distress Brief Intervention across Lanarkshire (North Lanarkshire Council, South Lanarkshire Council & NHS Lanarkshire) as part of the Scottish Government's Mental Health Strategy 2017 - 2027. . Duration: The Contract is anticipated to commence on 01/04/2027 for an initial period of 24 months until 31/03/2029. The Council reserves the sole right to extend the Contract for a further 24 months, in two 12 month periods until 31/03/2030 or 31/03/2031 respectively. . Budget: The allocated budget for this project is 2,557,680 GBP (excluding VAT) over the maximum 4 year period (48 months). This budget is fixed for the full contract duration. . Further to this overview, the complete 'Details of Requirements' forms part of the Invitation to Tender ("ITT") pack; please refer to the PCS-Tender project referenced in this Notice.. PLEASE BE AWARE OF THE EXCLUSION GROUNDS: Economic operators may be excluded from this competition if they are in any of the situations referred to in regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566392 |
| Notice type | OJEU - F21 - Social And other Specific Services (Public Contracts) |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Open procedure |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Tender |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | 11 Nov 2026 |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Active |
| Lots status | Active |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | North Lanarkshire Council |
| Additional buyers | NHS Lanarkshire; South Lanarkshire Council |
| Locality | MOTHERWELL |
| Postcode area | Motherwell |
| Postcode | ML1 1AB |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM3 West Central Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM34 North Lanarkshire |
| Local authority | North Lanarkshire |
| Electoral ward | Motherwell South East and Ravenscraig |
| Westminster constituency | Motherwell, Wishaw and Carluke |
| Delivery location | TLM84 North Lanarkshire, TLM95 South Lanarkshire |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85312320 - Counselling services

## Release History

- 9 Oct 2026 at 01:00 - Tender - OJEU - F21 - Social And other Specific Services (Public Contracts) - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566392

## Documents

- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566392
  Distress Brief Intervention - North Lanarkshire Council (the "Council") propose to establish a contract with a sole contractor for Distress Brief Intervention. . There is a longstanding culture of joint integration and partnership working across Lanarkshire which is further evidenced through the Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership (H&SCP) agreement for North Lanarkshire Social Care services to take a lead role in the commissioning of the DBI service on behalf of South Lanarkshire Social Care service and NHS Lanarkshire. . The approach to this procurement is in accordance with Regulation 74 (Social and Other Specific Services) of The Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.

## Notice URLs

- http://
- http://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/info/InfoCentre.aspx?ID=2343
- http://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/info/InfoCentre.aspx?ID=2363
- https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200
- https://www.gov.scot/policies/public-sector-procurement/community-benefits-in-procurement/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ssi/2015/446/part/2/chapter/3/crossheading/social-and-other-specific-services/made
- https://www.northlanarkshire.gov.uk/
- https://www.publictendersscotland.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000843200.json.
