---
title: "Primary Blood Grouping Analyser & Associated Consumables"
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Services Delivery Scotland) (PSD Scotland)"
published: "2026-09-28"
---

# Primary Blood Grouping Analyser & Associated Consumables

Buyer: The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Services Delivery Scotland) (PSD Scotland)  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069.json)

## Summary

Public Services Delivery Scotland, through the Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service (SNBTS), procured a managed service for primary blood grouping. The requirement covers the supply of blood grouping analysers and associated test kits, reagents, controls, calibrators and IT peripherals, together with delivery, installation, staff training and comprehensive maintenance. The system is used to test EDTA whole-blood samples from blood donors. Required testing includes ABO and RhD typing, reverse typing, antibody and high-titre anti-A/B screening, extended Rh phenotyping and K typing. SNBTS collects around 150,000 donations annually, with approximately one in ten from first-time donors. Donor testing operates around the clock; primary testing is focused on weekday and Saturday laboratory operations. Delivery is in Scotland.

The procurement has been awarded to Beckman Coulter Ltd, and the contract is active. The contract was signed on 21 December 2022 and runs from 1 February 2024 to 31 January 2029. Its published value is £1,818,311, updated to include the available extensions. The initial term is five years, with an option to extend by up to five periods of 12 months each. The procurement is presented as one requirement, covering the analyser managed service and associated consumables. The published information does not state the procurement method, procedure or evaluation criteria, so these cannot be used to distinguish how the successful supplier was selected.

This award shows demand for a complete, supported blood-grouping service rather than equipment alone. A credible competitor for a future requirement would need to provide analysers, compatible test kits and laboratory reagents, controls, calibrators and IT peripherals as an integrated package. Capability across the specified blood-grouping and antibody tests is central, as is the ability to supply, install and maintain the systems and train laboratory staff. Suppliers would need service capacity suited to a high-throughput blood service handling around 150,000 donations annually, with donor testing staffed around the clock and primary testing concentrated during daytime laboratory operations. The buyer’s requirement favours suppliers able to sustain comprehensive technical support alongside reliable diagnostic equipment and consumables.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Provision of a managed service comprising the supply of Primary Blood Grouping Analysers, incorporating all equipment, test kits, reagents, relevant controls and calibrators, I.T.peripherals, delivery, installation, training and fully comprehensive systems maintenance. Contract length - 5 years for with the option for five (5), twelve (12) month extensions. Donor Testing is staffed 24/7 however the focus for Primary testing is from 07.00 to 16.00, Mondays to Saturday. All testing must be completed by 15.00 to allow labelling of the blood components. SNBTS collects approximately 150,000 donations per year and approximately 10% of which are first time donors. Testing is performed on EDTA whole blood samples. The new blood grouping system will be required to perform the following tests: - ABO/RhD typing including all D Categories and reverse typing using A1 and B cells - Antibody screen - High titre anti-A/B screen - Extended Rh phenotyping (C, c, E, e) - K typing

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP565373 |
| Notice type | OJEU - F20 - Modification Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Feb 2024 - 31 Jan 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £1,818,311 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Not specified |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Services Delivery Scotland) (PSD Scotland) |
| Locality | EDINBURGH |
| Postcode area | Edinburgh |
| Postcode | EH12 9EB |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM1 East Central Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM13 City of Edinburgh |
| Local authority | City of Edinburgh |
| Electoral ward | Drum Brae/Gyle |
| Westminster constituency | Edinburgh South West |
| Delivery location | TLM Scotland |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Beckman Coulter UK Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 50 - Repair and maintenance services

### Codes

- 50421000 - Repair and maintenance services of medical equipment

## Release History

- 28 Sep 2026 at 01:00 - AwardUpdate - OJEU - F20 - Modification Notice - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP565373

## Documents

- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=SEP565373
  Primary Blood Grouping Analyser & Associated Consumables

## Notice URLs

- http://
- http://www.nss.nhs.scot/browse/procurement-and-logistics
- https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000844069.json.
