---
title: "Proposed alterations and extension to existing community centre for Grimsay Community Association at Ceann na h-Airigh, Scotvein, Grimsay."
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Tender"
buyer: "Grimsay Community Association"
published: "2026-10-13"
---

# Proposed alterations and extension to existing community centre for Grimsay Community Association at Ceann na h-Airigh, Scotvein, Grimsay.

Buyer: Grimsay Community Association  
Current stage: Tender  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259.json)

## Summary

Grimsay Community Association is procuring building works to repair and alter its existing community centre at Ceann na h-Airigh, Scotvein, Grimsay, on the Isle of North Uist. The project adds a café extension, a glazed corridor link and associated facilities, with further extension and improvement work to the centre. It is divided into four phases: a café extension and glazed link with compliant hard landscaping and drainage; a rear extension providing a library, staff toilet and external store; thermal upgrades to the existing unheated activity space; and external works. The works category is building renovation (CPV 45453100).

The buyer invited offers through an open procedure, with electronic submissions. The process reached tender; the submission deadline and bid opening were set for 24 November 2026 at 12:00 UTC. Bids must remain valid for 90 days. The contract period is 180 days. The estimated value for the single lot is £600,000. The lot is being awarded as one package across the four phases, and variants are not permitted. Evaluation requires suitable workmanship and compliance with applicable building, health and safety, fire, electrical and other standards. Building services must be energy-efficient, robust, straightforward to use and maintain; the contractor must provide coordinated design, installation and builders’ work drawings. The tender specifies no renewal or additional-purchase option.

This opportunity suits a building contractor able to deliver a multi-phase community-centre refurbishment and extension, including café and library accommodation, drainage and landscaping, thermal improvements and external works. The contractor must demonstrate high-quality workmanship in line with BS 8000 and manage compliance with current health and safety requirements, including COSHH and construction design and management duties. Building-services capability is important: designs and installations must follow relevant CIBSE guidance, Scottish standards and applicable British Standards, with energy use reduced and systems kept efficient, robust and easy for the centre’s users to operate and maintain. The appointed contractor is also expected to produce fully dimensioned, coordinated design, installation and builders’ work drawings in an agreed electronic format. The requirement therefore favours firms with integrated building and services delivery capability and experience coordinating with architectural and structural design teams.

## Notice

Proposed repairs, alterations and extension to existing community centre to provide cafe extension, corridor link, rear lean-to extension & associated facilities.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Phase 1 [Cafe Extension/ Glazed Link + associated hard landscaping and drainage to meet Statutory compliance ] Phase 2 [Rear Extension - Library, Staff WC, External Store] Phase 3 [Thermal upgrade of existing unheated Activity Space] Phase 4 [External works]

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566569 |
| Notice type | PCS Notice - Website Contract Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Open procedure |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Tender |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 13 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | 24 Nov 2026 |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £600,000 |
| Lots value | £600,000 |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Active |
| Lots status | Active |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Grimsay Community Association |
| Locality | ISLE OF NORTH UIST |
| Postcode area | Outer Hebrides |
| Postcode | HS6 5HY |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM2 Highlands and Islands |
| ITL 3 | TLM20 Highlands and Islands |
| Local authority | Na h-Eileanan Siar |
| Electoral ward | Uibhist a Tuath |
| Westminster constituency | Na h-Eileanan an Iar |
| Delivery location | TLM64 Na h-Eileanan Siar |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45453100 - Refurbishment work

## Release History

- 13 Oct 2026 at 01:00 - Tender - PCS Notice - Website Contract Notice - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566569

## Documents

- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT566569
  Proposed alterations and extension to existing community centre for Grimsay Community Association at Ceann na h-Airigh, Scotvein, Grimsay. - Proposed repairs, alterations and extension to existing community centre to provide cafe extension, corridor link, rear lean-to extension & associated facilities.

## Notice URLs

- http://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk
- http://www.rics.org
- https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259
- https://www.grimsay.org/
- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/ESPD/ESPD_Download.aspx?id=845259
- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/Search/Search_Switch.aspx?ID=845259
- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/sitehelp/help_guides.aspx

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845259.json.
