---
title: "PURCH2989 - PPE1005198 Direct Award for the Provision of Magnetic Wafer Prober"
ocid: "ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461.json"
source: "Public Contracts Scotland"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "University of Glasgow"
published: "2026-10-22"
---

# PURCH2989 - PPE1005198 Direct Award for the Provision of Magnetic Wafer Prober

Buyer: University of Glasgow  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461.json)

## Summary

The University of Glasgow procured a bespoke magnetic wafer prober for delivery in Glasgow. The equipment is tailored to the buyer’s required magnetic-generator characteristics, making this a specialist scientific instrument purchase rather than a standard off-the-shelf supply. The requirement was for one lot and forms part of the university’s research and technical equipment needs. The selected supplier, Hprobe, is based in France. The specified scope centres on supplying the customised prober; no installation, servicing or wider equipment package is described. This requirement is relevant to manufacturers and specialist suppliers able to design and supply magnetic wafer probing equipment to precise technical specifications.

The procurement is complete and the contract is active. The University of Glasgow made a direct award to Hprobe, without publishing a prior call for competition, citing technical reasons under the stated procurement regulations. The process comprised one lot. Quality and price each carried equal weight, at 50% apiece. The award value is not separately stated; the active contract is valued at £253,500. It was signed on 9 October 2026. The lot description sets a maximum period of 12 months, but the contract’s start and end dates are not recorded. The tender data reports one bid, from an SME based in the EU. The supplier was therefore selected through a technical-reasons exception rather than an open competition.

For suppliers hoping to compete when the University of Glasgow next needs this specific type of equipment, the award demonstrates demand for a bespoke magnetic wafer prober with particular magnetic-generator characteristics. Credibility is likely to depend on a proven ability to engineer and supply a tailored instrument that meets exact technical requirements, rather than offering only a generic wafer-probing product. The technical-reasons justification also shows that specialist capability and the distinctiveness of the proposed equipment can be central to the buyer’s purchasing route. A supplier should be ready to explain why its design meets the required characteristics and how its solution performs against the technical need, while presenting a competitive price: the previous evaluation weighted quality and price equally. The selected supplier was an SME, indicating that this specialist requirement was fulfilled by a smaller provider.

## Notice

PURCH2989 - PPE1005198 Direct Award for the Provision of Magnetic Wafer Prober

### Lot Information

Lot 1

PURCH2989 - PPE1005198 Direct Award for the Provision of Magnetic Wafer Prober Provision of a tailored made magnetic wafer prober with specific magnetic generator characteristics. Internal Procurement Policy Exception (PPE) Form completed. Justification: Regulations 2015-33 (1) (b) (ii)Technical Reasons For a maximum period of 12 months.

### Procurement Information

Regulations 2015-33 (1) (b) (ii)Technical Reasons

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Public Contracts Scotland |
| Latest notice | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT567189 |
| Notice type | OJEU - F3 - Contract Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 22 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £253,500 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | University of Glasgow |
| Locality | GLASGOW |
| Postcode area | Glasgow |
| Postcode | G12 8QQ |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM3 West Central Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM32 Glasgow City |
| Local authority | Glasgow City |
| Electoral ward | Hillhead |
| Westminster constituency | Glasgow North |
| Delivery location | TLM82 Glasgow City |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Hprobe |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 38 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)

### Codes

- 38000000 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)

## Release History

- 22 Oct 2026 at 01:00 - Award - OJEU - F3 - Contract Award Notice - https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT567189

## Documents

- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/show/search_view.aspx?ID=OCT567189
  PURCH2989 - PPE1005198 Direct Award for the Provision of Magnetic Wafer Prober - PURCH2989 - PPE1005198 Direct Award for the Provision of Magnetic Wafer Prober

## Notice URLs

- http://
- http://www.gla.ac.uk/
- https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-r6ebe6-0000845461.json.
